Day 13: Favorite Trap / Puzzle

I guess it would be more of a “trick” than a trap.

Sliding pit trap that drops somebody down to a lower dungeon level.

I ended up rolling several of them when I made my first dungeon after coming back to RPGs in 2010. (I posted the map of Level One for Day 12.)

The way I wrote them up, you don’t even take more than 1 HP of damage, but you end up coming out of a chute, and probably prone on the floor.

Made the walls of the chute very slippery so even a thief would find it a challenge to climb back up.

Sometimes the lid of the pit trap closes and locks so you can’t reopen it from inside.

Did I mention that the noise of you hitting the bottom means a Wandering Monster Check?

Wonder how many levels you fell?

Better hope somebody is left above who has a rope, if they can get the lid open at all.

Or maybe invite everybody down; the loot is probably better down here.

The other alternative is to frantically search for a way to get back up to a higher level.

Categories: blog challenge, blogging, D&D, Gaming | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 13: Favorite Trap / Puzzle

  1. Pingback: D30 Day #13: Favorite Trap/Puzzle | The Rambling Roleplayer

  2. My favorite trap has always been:

    The party comes to a door blocking their path. Inscribed on the door is an eye. Beneath the eye are the words “Draw your weapons and show them to me.”

    If the party presents an actual weapon to the door, they get hit by lightning. The solution is to get out pen and parchment and sketch the weapons.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

